India wins the 22nd Asian Athletics Championship

India is proud again
This time Indian Athletes have brought the fame
29 medals in Asian Athletics Championship
With 12 gold 5 silver 12 bronze, they have ruled the game

Yes you heard it right. India has won the 22nd Asian Athletics Championship that was held from 6-9 July 2017 at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, India. The event had around 560 athletes from 41 countries. The host(India) dominated the tally with no one except China(with 20 medals) near them. This was Indian players best performance and the whole country is proud of them.

Also Read | Diet Of The Greats: What Do Our Favorite Athletes Eat?

On day one they managed to get 7 medals where Manpreet Kaur (Shot put) and G Lakshmanan (5000 metres) brought the gold medals. On day two they added 8 medals to their list. Nirmala Sheoran in women’s 400 meter race, Muhammad Anas in the men’s 400 meter, Pu Chitra and Ajay Kumar Saroj in the 1500 m race gave India 4 gold medals.

But sunday was a big one when they got 5 gold 1 silver and 3 bronze medals.
The last day gold medals came from Govindan Lakshmanan, heptathlete Swapna Barman, javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra and the men’s and women’s 4x400m relay teams.

India wins the 22nd Asian Athletics Championship

Although India faced some disappointment in women’s discuss throw where despite having 3 contenders it failed to get a medal. It also faced a setback when Archana Adhav, India’s 800m runner was disqualified for pushing Sri Lankan player Nimali Waliwarsha Konda. Archana was initially declared the gold medal winner but Sri Lankan’s won their protest of being pushed near the finishing line from behind.

The winners now have a direct berth for the 2017 World Championships which is going to be held in London on August this year. As host, instead of the usual two, India was eligible to field three athletes in each discipline.

Let’s congratulate them on their win and hope they give the same magnificent performance next month in London.

India wins the 22nd Asian Athletics Championship. Share Your Views In The Comments Below.